Texas auto insurance requirements
Drivers in Texas must pay for any damages or injuries they cause as a result of an accident. Drivers typically meet this requirement by purchasing auto liability insurance. Liability insurance provides protection and covers expenses related to damaging a vehicle or injuring a person in an accident.
Minimum Texas auto insurance requirements
Most states set minimum auto insurance requirements and Texas is no different. In order to comply with Texas car insurance requirements drivers must carry at least:
- $30,000 for each injured person
- up to $60,000 total per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Keep in mind that these are the minimum requirements for auto insurance in the state. It is possible that these coverage levels won't be enough to pay for the other driver's losses, in which case the at-fault driver can be held personally responsible for the cost of damages. Higher coverage limits and other types of coverage offer more protection. It is important to compare not just price, but coverage, when searching for low cost car insurance. Popular coverages include:
- Collision coverage - can pay for damages caused to insured vehicles as the result of upset, or collision with another vehicle.
- Comprehensive coverage - handles damages not related to an auto collision accident. Comprehensive coverage can help pay for damages related to fire, theft, vandalism, weather events and accidents involving animals.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage - this coverage helps protect the insured, passengers, and the insured vehicle from uninsured drivers and hit-and-run accidents.
The optional coverages above help protect drivers from the financial risks involved with operating a vehicle, whether they caused the accident or not.
Verifying Texas car insurance requirements with TexasSure
Drivers are required to provide proof of insurance when:
- Requested by a law enforcement officer
- They get into an auto accident
- Registering a vehicle or renewing registration
- Applying for or renewing a driver's license
- Having the vehicle inspected
Failure to show proof of at least the minimum coverage requirements is a violation of the state's financial responsibility laws. The penalties for violating this law may include fines, suspension of the driver's license, vehicle impoundment, and/or jail time.
Texas government agencies use a program called TexasSure to verify compliance with auto insurance requirements in Texas. The program is designed to reduce the number of uninsured motorists operating vehicles in the state. TexasSure helps put an end to these practices by maintaining a database of registered vehicles and insurance coverage. The DPS, sheriffs, local police, and vehicle registration offices can all access this data electronically upon request, allowing them to quickly confirm whether or not a vehicle meets Texas auto insurance requirements.
Contact a Titan representative
To learn more about our Texas auto insurance coverage:
- Get an online auto insurance quote
- Call 1-800-TITAN-UP (1-800-848-2687)
- Find a Titan Insurance agent or broker near you
Products and discounts not available to all persons in all states. Product, coverage, discounts, insurance terms, definitions, and other descriptions are intended for informational purposes only and do not in any way replace or modify the definitions and information contained in your individual insurance contracts, policies, and/or declaration pages from Titan-affiliated underwriting companies, which are controlling. Such products, coverage, terms, and discounts may vary by state and exclusions may apply.