Ohio Auto Insurance Requirements
The State of Ohio requires all drivers to carry proof of financial responsibility. This proof may come in the form of an auto liability insurance policy, a Financial Responsibility Bond or a BMV Certificate in the amount of $30,000. This Certificate must be on deposit with the Ohio Treasurer.
Minimum Ohio auto insurance requirements
Of course, there are minimum Ohio auto insurance requirements that must be met in order to comply with the law. Non-compliance can result in fines, the suspension of the vehicle registration, and the suspension of the driver's license.
Under Ohio law, drivers must carry at least,
- $25K in bodily injury or death coverage for 1 person in any one accident
- $50K for bodily injury or death to more than one person in any one accident
- $25K for damage to property in any one accident
Furthermore, drivers must carry proof of this financial responsibility in the form of an insurance card issued by the insurer.
Keep in mind that these coverages represent the minimum amounts required under Ohio law. Additional coverage is available in the form of higher amounts or different types of coverage such as Collision, Comprehensive and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist. Each provides some type of financial assistance to the policyholder in the event of an accident, which is important for drivers who don't have the financial means to pay for damages out-of-pocket.
Ohio's Random Selection Program
In an effort to keep roads safe and encourage drivers to purchase auto liability insurance or other forms of financial responsibility, the State of Ohio implemented a Random Selection Program in 1998. The State found that many drivers purchased insurance just long enough to get the vehicle registered. Once registration was complete, they cancelled their insurance policy, but continued to drive uninsured. The program is a direct effort by the state to minimize such actions and protect all drivers from these irresponsible actions.
Under the Random Selection Program, vehicles are randomly selected from the BMV database and the owner is sent notice to show proof of insurance for the vehicle by a certain date. If the owner fails to provide this proof within the timeframe provided, their driver's license and vehicle registration can be suspended.
In order to comply with the request, policyholders must mail a copy of their insurance card or a copy of the declarations page of their policy to the Ohio BMV along with their license plate number. These are the only forms of proof accepted.
The cost of non-compliance
The costs of not complying with auto liability insurance requirements in Ohio are steep. In addition to potential personal liability for damages or injuries, failure to provide proof of financial responsibility at the time of an accident can result in the loss of driver's license and vehicle registration for up to two years. In addition, the vehicle may be impounded.
In order to have driving privileges reinstated, the offender must:
- serve out their suspension time,
- file and maintain an SR22 bond for three to five years, depending on the offense, and
- pay a reinstatement fee.
Contact a Titan representative
To learn more about our Ohio auto insurance coverage:
- Get and online auto insurance quote
- Call 1-800-TITAN-UP (1-800-848-2687)
- Find a Titan Insurance agent or broker near you
Products and discounts not available to all persons in all states. Product, coverage, discounts, insurance terms, definitions, and other descriptions are intended for informational purposes only and do not in any way replace or modify the definitions and information contained in your individual insurance contracts, policies, and/or declaration pages from Titan-affiliated underwriting companies, which are controlling. Such products, coverage, terms, and discounts may vary by state and exclusions may apply.