New Mexico Auto Insurance Requirements
In amounts that satisfy minimum financial responsibility limits, New Mexico law requires all drivers to have auto liability insurance before cars can be legally driven in the state. Liability insurance provides protection and covers expenses related to damaging a vehicle or injuring a person in an accident. Liability differs from comprehensive or collision coverage, which protects and can pay for damages to the insured vehicle.
Minimum New Mexico auto insurance requirements
New Mexico auto insurance laws require drivers to carry auto liability insurance in amounts of at least,
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons
- $10,000 for property damage in any one accident
Additional coverage types and higher coverage amounts provide more protection than the state's minimum requirements, which may or may not be enough to cover the full costs of an accident. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is optional, but recommended, as it protects the insured from absorbing various costs related to damages caused by an at-fault uninsured or underinsured motorist.
About New Mexico auto insurance
Once insurance has been purchased, the insurance company will provide the information to the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB). This ensures that the state receives notice of coverage and the driver won't be fined for not complying with the state's mandatory insurance requirement.
The database was designed to aid law enforcement officers, state agencies and the court system in determining whether or not a vehicle is appropriately insured. Therefore, it is very important that drivers make sure they provide the right VIN to their insurer.
Consequences of failing to comply with New Mexico auto insurance laws
Not complying with New Mexico auto insurance requirements is risky. Drivers who do not have insurance not only run the financial risk of having to pay for damages to their car and to others' cars, they also face fines and penalties from the state.
Owners and operators that do not carry the required amount of liability insurance coverage may have their registration suspended, denied or delayed. License plates must be returned to the Motor Vehicle Division or the owner risks facing criminal penalties. Fines for reinstatement of vehicle registration are payable once proof of insurance has been supplied to the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB).
Contact a Titan representative
To learn more about our New Mexico auto insurance coverage:
- Get an online auto insurance quote
- Call 1-800-TITAN-UP (1-800-848-2687)
- Find a Titan Insurance agent or broker near you
Products and discounts not available to all persons in all states. Product, coverage, discounts, insurance terms, definitions, and other descriptions are intended for informational purposes only and do not in any way replace or modify the definitions and information contained in your individual insurance contracts, policies, and/or declaration pages from Titan-affiliated underwriting companies, which are controlling. Such products, coverage, terms, and discounts may vary by state and exclusions may apply.